Here’s the Problem: Personal Problem Friday!

Here’s the Problem:  Intern Hillary and Kara seem to have the “celebrity” world covered, so allow me to indulge in a personal issue.   This morning I found a moment before work to take my clothes out of the dryer (finally found my marathon socks – yes, that’s how long it’s been).  And while throwing damp t-shirts from dryer to to laundry bag, Ortiz, our Super (super…indendent? of the building?) comes in and we start to chat.

Ortiz:  Elo Liza

**Yes, despite being Latino, he speaks like Christian from Poland**

Lisa: Hi Ortiz

Ortiz:  How’s your apartment?

Lisa: Oh fine.  How’s yours?

**I kindly ignore the fact we’ve had warped floor boards for 3 years**

Ortiz:  Oh! haha!  It’s fine, I guess.

Lisa:  Well you just let me know if there’s a problem. Hey Ortiz, this dryer…

And then the conversation takes a turn.  Ortiz notices I’m tired (and have a lot of sports bras) and asks what I do for a living.  He is unimpressed by the answer (as am I) and tells me I should do what I love.  Life is short!, he says.  What continues is an awkward exchange about passion and goals.  The exchange is him telling me I should have these things, and I in turn unintentionally show him I prefer lace boyshort underwear to anything else.  The conversation dwindles down as I awkwardly fold a fitted sheet (seriously, how does that work??).  And he leaves.

Actual Problem:  The second dryer from the left isn’t working and that’s kinda all I want to talk to Ortiz about.

3 responses to “Here’s the Problem: Personal Problem Friday!

  1. Solution to one problem: folding a fitted sheet is fairly easy! You have to fold in the weird stretchy sides like you’re going to hem them, then proceed to fold the sheet normally.

  2. Kings Alace Resident #3

    HA!!!! I always wondered what Ortiz really means when he asks “Is everything OK?” He doesn’t want to fix the window screens, he wants to fix our lives.

  3. CHRISTIAN FROM POLAND!!!

Leave a Reply

