Here’s The Problem: Madonna & the Superbowl

Here’s The Problem: I has just come to my attention that Madonna is going to be performing at the half-time show of the Superbowl this year. When I heard this I was stunned for many reasons. The first being, I was not sure that a woman of her age would be able to do a show of this magnitude. I was also concerned that her faux British accent may sully some of her older hits. I then Googled “what’s wrong with Madonna” and found this awesome video.

 

Actual Problem: I absolutely loathe Madonna. 🙂

 

2 responses to “Here’s The Problem: Madonna & the Superbowl

  1. This is an interesting conundrum I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks now, even though I’m not one of those Madonna crazies. (Full disclosure: I find it cool when anyone who got their start almost 30 years ago is still around and doing their thang. That’s legit, even if her music isn’t really meant for me.) Apparently Madonna sells out stadiums around the world, so a show of this magnitude is pretty much what she calls “Tuesday.” One may mention that her last two albums went to number one in 30 countries including the good ol’ US of A, so we can’t dismiss her relevance.

    Also, I find it interesting that only Madonna, out of all famous artists, has her age mentioned every single time something is written about her. (and yes, she’s clearly holding onto whatever she can portray as youthful in an almost obsessive way, but she’s no where near the first famous person, man or woman, to do that.) As women, that should really piss you off / freak y’all the F out / remind you how little has changed.

    Actual Problem? Posts like this make it easier for things like that to be said about women in the future. And is that the world we want to create for our daughters…?

  2. Oh, and just to clarify: the last sentence in the second paragraph refers to her age being mentioned every time Madonna is, not her obsession with youth.

Leave a Reply

